What Are NAFA's Sustainable Fleet Awards?

The Sustainable Fleet Awards honor individuals and organizations that have implemented pioneering, innovative, and creative programs to help with their company’s overall sustainable initiative. 

Let NAFA know your sustainable fleet practices that provide for creating and maintaining environmental conditions for future generations. Four awards will be offered:  two for a sedan/light truck fleet and two for a truck/equipment fleet. Entrants will be grouped in two broad categories according to the fleet's area of operation and whether or not those areas are considered mandated to improve their air quality.

Mandated Areas are defined as:

Sedans/light truck fleets with trucks less than 10,000 GVWR located in EPAct and clean air mandated areas of the U.S. for clean air, or in Pollution Emission Management Area (PEMA) mandated areas in Canada.

Truck/heavy equipment fleets located in EPAct and clean air mandated areas of the U.S. for clean air, or in Pollution Emission Management Area (PEMA) mandated areas in Canada.

Non-Mandated Areas are defined as:

Sedans/light duty fleet located in non-mandated areas of the U.S. or Canada.

Truck/heavy equipment located in non-mandated attainment areas of the U.S. or Canada.

**Note: A member may submit multiple entries, however, a separate entry must be submitted for any one of the four categories selected above.**

Who May Enter?

Entrants must be NAFA Members. Applications may be submitted by any individual who is directly employed in a vehicle management role by any company, utility government agency, or not-for-profit organization in the United States or Canada. A NAFA Member can nominate themselves and/or their fleet team. NAFA Members and Affiliates may nominate other fleet managers for their work in this area; however, such nominations must be verified the person being nominated.

How Are Entries Judged?

A distinguished panel may include industry judges from an OEM manufacturer, an automotive publishing company, a leasing company, and fleet managers from the private and public sectors. The criteria for judging will include originality, innovativeness, and demonstrated accomplishment for reducing energy consumption.


All entries become the property of the NAFA Fleet Management Association, which reserves the right to publicize information at its discretion about the award winners and the winning management practices. NAFA reserves the right  to use an entry for the basis of an article or other publications it produces.

How Do I Enter?

To be considered a candidate for NAFA's Sustainable Fleet Award, complete the application and email it to NAFA. There is NO entry fee. All entries must include this completed entry form and any additional materials sent electronically with the entry to further explain the sustainable program that is being submitted.

In consideration of the environment, ALL ENTRIES MUST BE RECEIVED ELECTRONICALLY; paper entries and submissions will not be accepted. To enter, submit your completed NAFA Sustainable Fleet Award entry and any additional electronic documents to: awards@nafa.org.

Click here for an online entry form or visit www.nafa.org/sustainablefleetawards.

connect + discuss 

green fleet newsletter



Join our growing network! Fleet Challenge Ontario helps fleet operators reduce their fuel consumption, operating costs and tailpipe emissions through sharing of modern fleet management techniques and proven best management practices.